Friday, 25. January 2008

...And Check My Room On Google Maps

With one hour delay we took off, I slept like a baby the whole trip and at 8 o'clock I was in Amsterdam. Called Ruiter (the guy who I'm renting the room from), searched a while for my bike, found it and went to the quite easily accessible train station. At about 9 I was on the train to The Hague, where arrived completely exhausted a quarter to ten. Since they didn't have trolleys at the train station I had to carry my stuff in stages: backpack, bike and one bag for 100m, drop them, get the other bag and do the whole thing over again. At the entrance Ruiter was already waiting and helped me carry the stuff the rest of the way. Luckily the apartment building is only 5 minutes walk away from the train station – and it has an elevator.

At ten o'clock Standard Western European Time I had finally arrived. Ruiter – who by the way is a very nice graphic design student in Rotterdam – showed me the room (see below), put some life back into me by handing me a Red Bull and explained the building to me. After that we chilled a bit at his friend Ringo's place (just one floor below), Ruiter went home to his parents, I started to unpack some stuff and finally hit the sheets at about 1.

The next day I woke up to find out that I'm living in the wrong part of The Hague: right on the border to the ghetto, the good neighborhoods being on the completely other end of town, and only 100m away from the red light district, where – as I checked today – the girls are just way too pretty to be working as prostitutes. On the other hand I'm only 5 minutes away from city center and hey, look at the view :)

Life Abroad (CPH)
Life Abroad (DH)
Life Abroad (OSL)
Life At Home (DAR)
Life At Home (ERL)
Pardy Hardy
Props
Random Things
Stuff
Videos
Work
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog