Sunday, 19. July 2009

Chilling With Automaton And Stuff

Here's a little update on what I'm up to these days. As you know, I'm on my July 'vacation', but so far that hast unfortunately mostly consisted of extracurricular work. First, I have to do a couple of t-shirts for André, the guy I already did the logo for. Then I've begun designing my portfolio website so that that same André can soonishly start programming. And in a addition to that Svein and me will be collaborating on a poster for an Australian magazine/poster company which is due early August.

Most of last week though I've spent with Ære and Graham from Automaton Studio. These two are running sort of an improv silkscreen printing studio here in Oslo and I'm doing one half of my oral diploma exams on them. Really nice guys who let me pester them for three days so far while they are setting up a new studio after relocating from their old place. I was mostly there to document the progress of construction, their 'facilities', the print process and a couple of their reference works. But I also helped out a little when I could, bought beers and had some nice coffee chats. I'll be seeing them again in a week for a small interview and a couple of more pictures. And even though this is also work somehow, it's nice to get out and away from the computer screen once in a while.

Other than that not much going on at the moment. Took a little run up to the very pretty Sognsvann which I will hopefully repeat soon and than also go around the lake. Backed up all my work for Bleed and am currently in the – very much pain-in-the-ass – process of transferring all data from my old iBook to the MacBook Pro that the studio has given me as a farewell present. Booked my flight back home for the 7th of August – which was a five hour trial as it's not that easy finding a cheap airline that will let you take two bikes, a snowboard and a longboard on a plane all at once. And finally, I'm gradually preparing my departure from Norway in general – sending stuff home, canceling accounts, these sort of things.

Oh, and I'm continuing to watch a very odd selection of movie. I must have really weird mood swings according to the list on the right. Anyways, below are Ære and Graham testing the new developing facilities for the very first time.


Life Abroad (CPH)
Life Abroad (DH)
Life Abroad (OSL)
Life At Home (DAR)
Life At Home (ERL)
Pardy Hardy
Props
Random Things
Stuff
Videos
Work
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog