Saturday, 11. October 2008

Thank you, M83!

Last night I went to see M83 – probably one of my all time favorites – live at John Dee. I had to go alone, as Astrid bailed out on me on short notice, sort of. To avoid two hours of waiting like last time I went out to see a band by myself, I took it easy and didn't leave the house 'til 10 (doors opening was at 9). Unfortunately, that made me miss most of the opening act, Blokk5. Nevertheless, the three songs I did hear were quite good.

And M83, well, they were simply amazing. Always thought it's just one guy but they were in fact four, with the drummer for some reason sitting behind a plexiglas glass wall. All the same, a sympathetic bunch obviously enjoying themselves and the crowd's enthusiasm. Luckily they didn't just play their new album "Saturdays = Youth" but also a lot of better 'classics' from their first two. Then again, their new songs actually do sound great as well live. Anyways, this made me remember why their sound was once the greatest of all to me. And how much I've missed a good concert.

Plus, I never wanted to go to concerts by myself, was also kinda down that Astrid didn't join me. But yesterday it actually really didn't matter. My timing was better for one and it's also music that you should enjoy without a lot of talking anyways. In addition to that, I noticed that quite a lot of people seem to go see bands on their own. So I didn't feel 'alone' after all :)

On a side note: despite being a non-smoker (99% of the time...), I heavily oppose the smoking ban in bars and clubs. Why? Because of three little words, baby: beer, sweat and farts.













The best song of the night – and we got the 10 minute version :D

Life Abroad (CPH)
Life Abroad (DH)
Life Abroad (OSL)
Life At Home (DAR)
Life At Home (ERL)
Pardy Hardy
Props
Random Things
Stuff
Videos
Work
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog